Reviews For Paralegal Verse
Reviewer: Jensenfan1978 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/30/2013 - 10:25 am Title: First Sight

Great first chapter. I love the flirting and avoiding.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading. I love when I get chapter comments. It makes me day. I hope you enjoy the story's conclusion and that you get a chance to read the rest of the series.

Reviewer: Jolieblon Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/13/2012 - 11:47 pm Title: Sugar and Spice

I'm finding out so many interesting things about adoption. A form of post-partum depression.

{But he’d been the stable one this time around. He’d been there for his husband}
I like that things are balancing out for the boys. That this is something that Jensen can hold on too during his next freak out.

I'm guessing Jared passed the bar? And album went good? And a puppy? And they definitely need to go househunting.
Sure am glad you're planning some more timestamps!

Thank you again, so much, for sharing your awesome talents.

Author's Response: Thank you! I appreciate the time you take letting me know your thoughts as you are reading. That's rare and special and it means so much. It's like you are giving me these great gifts each time. Jared definitely passed the bar. I realize now I don't actually say that. I think I say he's an associate at the firm though. I think it's fair to say that they also had a good time recording in LA. I haven't any specific timestamp plans but it would be fun to revisit them again in some form. The next J2 I write I think will be for my Talk Verse.

Reviewer: Jolieblon Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/13/2012 - 11:27 pm Title: Sugar and Spice

It is so heartbreaking how much of Ellie's precious first months Jared is missing. (obviously this requires another baby)

I have to tell you how much I love the varied descriptions of Jared's eyes. It's such a wonderful motif for Jensen.

{touching like a blind man aching to see with his hands}
Jensen cried, Jared cried, I cried. Hey, how come neither of them wiped my tears away? Shoot.

Thank you for showcasing how important it is to get the correct care for depression. How it's so necessary to get the right medication at the right dosage and to get therapy as well. It's pretty cool when you can entertain and educate at the same time.

Author's Response: Thanks for your lovely, detailed comments. They are the best. I did feel bad to have Jared in essence miss out. But he will catch up. The depression part was based on my experience. Others might have different experiences. But the science is in on the medication and for many people they literally can be lifesavers.

Reviewer: Jolieblon Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/13/2012 - 09:29 pm Title: Sugar and Spice

Criminy, girl! I love your writing. You are always taking us to different places and a clinically depressed Jared is about as different as it gets.

I never would have thought during these stories that I would ever have been thankful for David. Wow. The moon just shifted a little.

{everyone’s girlfriends can go back to saying, ‘Oh aren’t they the sweetest things ever?’ While the rest of us retch}
And you keep me skating back and forth with Chad, between loving the heck out him and wanting to pinch him.

But this line?
{Was it too soon to start thinking of joining a Tibetan monastery? Did they take kids?}
One of your best.

BTW, how cool of you to incorporate so much of your personal experiences into this! I sure didn't know that about international adoptions. It just seems so obvious that a warm, loving, supportive family for a child in need should be the goal, regardless of race, color, religion, or sexual orientation.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I adore your reviews, BTW. They just make my day. Thanks so much for pointing out the Tibetan monastery line -- it's a personal favorite. This story was heavy in so many places. But as you know, the entire series started very much a romantic comedy. Whenever I can take it back to its roots that way, it felt very good. Re the international adoptions. There are a limited number of nations that have an agreement with the U.S. to allow international adoptions -- China, Korea, parts of eastern Europe, Colombia and maybe one or two more, not positive. I researched the rules for adoption for all the countries that allow it and all had provisions that excluded same sex couples. Some allowed for a single parent adoption. But none allowed for a same sex couple adoption -- even if married in one of the six states where it's legal in the U.S.

Reviewer: Jolieblon Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/13/2012 - 08:54 pm Title: Sugar and Spice

{David blinked first.}
YES! YESYESYES! I would be doing a victory dance if I didn't have a laptop and a lapcat weighing me down.

Okay, a 72 hour waiting period makes sense, but it's hard for the adoptive parents to miss that initial bonding.

{Jensen swallowed hard and swiped at his eyes.}
It's okay Jen. I'll cry for you. sniffff

Oh noes! Now I'm really, for real crying! And trying to decide between hugging Jared and smacking him.

And, cool St. Elsewhere reference there. :)

Author's Response: I date myself with the references. I'm delighted you caught it. The waiting period for relinquishing parental rights vary by state so I researched for the District of Columbia. My adoption experience is international -- my girls are from Colombia and Guatemala. But ... I couldn't copy that experience for the Js as there's virtually no such thing as international adoption for a same sex couple. Sad, but true.

Reviewer: Jolieblon Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/13/2012 - 08:14 pm Title: Sugar and Spice

{But I can take care of myself. He’s not a threat. The boy he dated doesn’t exist anymore. Only one here is the man that married you.}
That's my boy!! However, I do hope Jared takes to heart that he should be there more for his Jensen.
Maybe that point was pushed home by Peggy's remarks as well.

Love, love your supportive parents!
{The thing about life is that it’s a mixture of sugar and spice.}
What a neat turn of phrase. I like 'sugar and spice' having multiple meanings.
(It's also the name of the preschool where I worked for awhile.:))

Author's Response: Thanks! The parents are supportive in this story all the way through. Jared ... well, let's just say Jared has been trying so hard to do everything that he truly overloads. All the stories in the series have common phrase titles with multiple meanings :)

Reviewer: Jolieblon Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/13/2012 - 07:35 pm Title: Sugar and Spice

{Eleanor is Melissa's deceased adoptive mother's name}
Gotcha. I was making too much of the boys talking about 'Lori' not being a usual nickname for Eleanor. I was working on this conspiracy theory where Melissa's bio-mother makes a grandmother claim for her baby. LOL

Also, when Jensen holds his baby girl for the first time? What a song he is going to see!

Author's Response: Awww. That's a cute scene idea (re the holding) that unfortunately I didn't think of! But I hope to still write some timestamps for this verse.

Reviewer: Jolieblon Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/13/2012 - 04:38 pm Title: Sugar and Spice

Forgot to say in chapter one that I love the 'safe space' that the boys create.

{Sometimes the answer is ‘no.’}
Our Chris is a very wise man!
Also, I canNOT wait to use this
{If brains were leather, he wouldn’t have enough to saddle a June bug.}

And you brought back David! I love to hate that man. The insidious way he peels back Jensen's defenses and makes him doubt himself. But I will only be happy when David is hurting just as badly. Doesn't have to be physical. I'm okay with mental or emotional torture, just so long as he suffers.

I'm worried about the Eleanor name, named for Melissa's biological mother? Could that throw another wrench in the machinery?

Author's Response: Eleanor is Melissa's deceased adoptive mother's name. It states that Melissa was adopted. I don't provide information about her biological mother. Honestly, this won't be an issue :) I brought back David, yes. He plays an important and interesting role. Also, my beta's fave scene in all three stories takes place with David in it.

Reviewer: Jolieblon Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/13/2012 - 03:35 pm Title: Sugar and Spice

I love that Jared and Jensen are both trying to adapt and accommodate their styles and expectations.
But if they thought their finances were pinched already, and with Jared's loans coming due? A baby is going to totally gob smack them.

Author's Response: Hi there. You are right, of course. But I was going with the premise that Jared is earning a good salary and up for a raise at his law firm. Plus some of his law school was subsidized by the firm. And lastly, Jensen is supplementing their income nicely with private music lessons and royalties on the songs he's selling. So while they will have many issues -- money won't be one of them :D Thanks for reading and I can't wait to see what you think of further chapters!

Reviewer: WildIrishRose Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/13/2012 - 01:24 am Title: Sugar and Spice

I am so excited you wrote something new! Did you post this all at one time because I didn't see it before I was so happy it was completed because I would have died if I had to wait for updates!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I did post it all at once. It was written for a Big Bang on LiveJournal and I didn't see the need to drag out posts as it was complete. Personally, I only read complete stories myself. No patience :)

Reviewer: Anonymous Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/10/2012 - 07:59 pm Title: Sugar and Spice

Went back and read the whole verse. Awesome story, but is the some type of insulin for angst overdose?....:)

Author's Response: I hope you enjoy this last part. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: janine Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/26/2011 - 06:49 am Title: First Sight

Oh, hun, I'm all over Something Blue as soon as I can get a moment to read through it completely. I hate not being able to finish a story once I've started, especially when it's a damn good story!!

Author's Response: Thanks! Good to hear.

Reviewer: janine Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/24/2011 - 05:08 am Title: First Sight

Fun! Like the way you're not literally repeating what happened. You're revealing new info...so good...I love both their inner monologues.

Author's Response: Thanks! I was afraid of this timestamp because it is repetitive in terms of the plot. But I did add some to fill in the long timejump that takes place at the end of the original story. Since you've read Three Strikes and now this I hope you eventually come back and read Something Blue. It moves their story forward a great deal. But it's still the middle of the story. Because there is a third installment coming.

Reviewer: janine Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/24/2011 - 04:22 am Title: Three Strikes

Brilliant! So perfect. Just perfect!!!

Author's Response: Can't get better than 'perfect' :) Thanks so much. I did enjoy writing neurotic!Jensen. Mostly because I got to put so much of me into him :) I wrote a long sequel for this one called Something Blue. And really my next large to-do is the sequel to Something Blue, which I've put off but I want to get going on. This was always seen as a trilogy in my mind.

Reviewer: janine Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/24/2011 - 03:52 am Title: Three Strikes

So damn moving and powerful. Love the VM bit. j

Author's Response: You're making me want to reread the story as it's been a while. I'm delighted how much you are enjoying it.

No results found.


Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.